Menu

Category: DEFAULT

I Want To Be Happy - Sarah Vaughan - Sassy Swings Again (CD, Album)

9 Comments

Tracklist Sorted by: Running order Running order Most popular. Buy Loading. More Love this track. Play album Buy Loading. Scrobble Stats? What is scrobbling? Artist images 43 more. Jazz critic Leonard Feather called her "the most important singer to emerge from the bop era. Similar Artists Play all. Trending Tracks 1. Features Exploring the local sounds and scenes at Noise Pop Fest. Albums of the latest and loved, and the ones to look out for discover By okspud1 15 Feb am.

All Things Hyped: Last. Play track. Love this track. More Love this track Set track as current obsession Get track Loading. Monday 30 March Tuesday 31 March Wednesday 1 April Thursday 2 April Friday 3 April Saturday 4 April Sunday 5 April Monday 6 April Tuesday 7 April Wednesday 8 April Thursday 9 April Friday 10 April Saturday 11 April Sunday 12 April Monday 13 April Tuesday 14 April Wednesday 15 April Friday 17 April Saturday 18 April Sunday 19 April Monday 20 April Tuesday 21 April Wednesday 22 April Thursday 23 April Friday 24 April Saturday 25 April Saturday 25 April Sunday 26 April Monday 27 April Tuesday 28 April Wednesday 29 April Thursday 30 April Friday 1 May Saturday 2 May Sunday 3 May Monday 4 May Tuesday 5 May Wednesday 6 May Thursday 7 May Friday 8 May Saturday 9 May Sunday 10 May Monday 11 May Tuesday 12 May Wednesday 13 May Thursday 14 May Friday 15 May Saturday 16 May Sunday 17 May Monday 18 May Tuesday 19 May Wednesday 20 May Thursday 21 May Friday 22 May Saturday 23 May Sunday 24 May Monday 25 May Tuesday 26 May Wednesday 27 May Thursday 28 May Friday 29 May Saturday 30 May Sunday 31 May Monday 1 June Tuesday 2 June Thursday 4 June Friday 5 June Monday 29 June Tuesday 30 June Wednesday 1 July Thursday 2 July Friday 3 July Saturday 4 July Sunday 5 July Monday 6 July Tuesday 7 July Wednesday 8 July Thursday 9 July Friday 10 July Saturday 11 July Sunday 12 July Monday 13 July Tuesday 14 July Wednesday 15 July Thursday 16 July Friday 17 July Saturday 18 July Sunday 19 July Monday 20 July Tuesday 21 July Wednesday 22 July Thursday 23 July Friday 24 July Saturday 25 July Sunday 26 July Monday 27 July Tuesday 28 July Wednesday 29 July Thursday 30 July Friday 31 July Saturday 1 August Sunday 2 August Monday 3 August Tuesday 4 August Wednesday 5 August Thursday 6 August Friday 7 August Saturday 8 August The song selection is brilliant this might serve as a collection of her best hits - Poor Butterfly, Say it isn't so, I Cried for you, Black coffee, Polka Dots and Moon beams, All of me One of Vaughan's trademarks were also ballads, at times a bit too dramatic, but she doesn't indulge that much in them here - she sounds too energetic to be pompous.

Admittedly, Sassy does get a tad too happy on some songs first half of "Lover Man", for instance , jeopardizing the performance, but that's a marginal occurance on this double CD jazz extravaganza, a must have for all serious jazz collectors. This top class jazz is also quite accessible to wider audiences; try this and you'll forget there ever was a Norah Jones, Diana Krall or even a serious performer such as Cassandra Wilson.

Hearing to believe, even it would say more, it's only necessary to listen this excellent record with a little attention for detecting we are in front of one of the best JAZZ singers ever and in front of a fascinating recording, completely relaxed. Saying this, I think it's sufficient and besides this great registration is considered perhaps one of her best live sessions of the ' s if not the best Only of these live sessions we could find one recording better than this "Sassy Swings the Tivoli" the earliest "At Mister Kelly's" session.

About "Tivoli" I am going to refer to some few songs because are standards very well-known ever, Vaughan is quite expressive in tunes as "Misty", "Sometimes I'm Happy", "Tenderly", "Poor Butterfly" and " "I Cried For You", but the remainder of the record and its interpretation is absolutely brilliant. In this occasion he is joined by her rhythm section of the period, pianist Kirk Stuart, bassist Charles Williams and drummer George Hughes instead of the habitual orchestras and that they do a session delight, the fact is that most of her best records have been done with small groups rather than orchestras, despite the grandiloquence of her voice.

One person found this helpful. See all reviews. Top reviews from other countries. Translate all reviews to English. Translate review to English. Report abuse Translate review to English. There's a problem loading this menu right now.

Learn more about Amazon Prime. Get free delivery with Amazon Prime. Back to top. Get to Know Us. Amazon Payment Products. English Choose a language for shopping. Vaughan ended her longstanding and career-defining tenure at Mercury with this fine set from King favorite "Everyday I Have the Blues," which, while impressively delivered, demonstrates why her forte was not the dirty lowdown side of the musical coin.

Vaughan , however, does shine on a blues-tinged version of Irving Berlin 's swinger "All Alone," showing she certainly could convey a dusky mood in the right setting. As usual, Vaughan rides in style throughout, compliments of some fine arrangements by Thad Jones, J. Johnson, Manny Albam, and a young Bob James. An often overlooked but essential session from that most divine of jazz chanteuses.

AllMusic relies heavily on JavaScript. Please enable JavaScript in your browser to use the site fully.

Sassy Swings Again is a studio album by Sarah Vaughan. This was Vaughan's last album for Mercury Records, and her last studio recording for four years.

9 thought on “I Want To Be Happy - Sarah Vaughan - Sassy Swings Again (CD, Album)”

  1. Zoloshakar says:
    Vaughan ended her longstanding and career-defining tenure at Mercury with this fine set from Entering her autumnal prime, Vaughan effortlessly ignites such chestnuts as "Take the 'A' Train" (one of the best interpretations of the Billy Strayhorn classic), "I Want to Be Happy," and "Sweet Georgia Brown." She also dips into some rarely heard gems like Richard Rodgers' "The Sweetest Sounds 8/
  2. Jujinn says:
    View credits, reviews, tracks and shop for the CD release of Sassy Swings Again on Discogs.4/5(1).
  3. Mazshura says:
    View credits, reviews, tracks and shop for the CD release of Sassy Swings Again on Discogs. Label: Mercury - ,Phonogram - • Format: CD Album, Reissue • Country: US • Genre: Jazz, Blues •/5(2).
  4. Daikasa says:
    19 rows · Discover releases, reviews, credits, songs, and more about Sarah Vaughan - Sassy /5(30).
  5. Kagajin says:
    This big band date for Mercury (her last release for the company) is perhaps one of Sarah Vaughan's lesser-known albums. After a few years concentrating on more pop-oriented projects like a Henry Mancini songbook or the LPs Viva! Vaughan and Pop Artistry, Sassy decided it was time to get back to jazzier, more swinging territory/5(4).
  6. Mauran says:
    Sarah Vaughan ‎– Sassy Swings Again. Label: Mercury ‎– SR, Mercury ‎– SR /5(10).
  7. Mataxe says:
    View credits, reviews, tracks and shop for the Vinyl release of Sassy Swings Again on Discogs. Label: Mercury - MCY • Format: Vinyl LP, Album, Stereo 4/5(1).
  8. Fenrijind says:
    Mar 22,  · Tracklist: Sweet Georgia Brown Take The 'A' Train I Left My Heart In San Francisco S'posin Everyday I Have The Blues I Want To Be Happy All Alone The Sweetest Sounds On The Other Side Of The Tracks I Had A Ball Vaughan ended her longstanding and.
  9. Kazrajind says:
    Vaughan ended her longstanding and career-defining tenure at Mercury with this fine set from Entering her autumnal prime, Vaughan effortlessly ignites such chestnuts as "Take the 'A' Train" (one of the best interpretations of the Billy Strayhorn classic), "I Want to Be Happy.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *